Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Kalvari-Class Submarine INS Vagir

  • IAS NEXT, Lucknow
  • 04, Feb 2022
Image Not Found

In news: 

The fifth submarine of Project 75, INS Vagir, Indian Navy’s Kalvari class commenced her sea trials on 01 Feb 22.

Key takeaways 

  • Indian Naval Ship (INS) Vagir is the fifth among the six Kalvari-class submarines.
  • The other vessels in the class are INS Kalvari, INS Khanderi, INS Karanj, INS Vela and INS Vagsheer.

Technical details

  • The design of Kalvari class of submarines is based on Scorpene class of submarines which have Diesel Electric transmission systems. 
  • These are primarily attack submarines or ‘hunter-killer’ type which means they are designed to target and sink adversary naval vessels.
  • It can reach the highest speeds of 11 knots when surfaced and 20 knots when submerged.
  • These submarines have the Air Independent Propulsion (AIP) which enables non-nuclear submarines to operate for a long time without access to surface oxygen.

Do you know? 

  • Like Kalvari (which means Tiger Shark), Vagir has been named after a Sand Fish, a predatory marine species. 
  • Khanderi has been named after an Island Fort built by Chhatrapati Shivaji.
  • Karanj has also been named after an Island located South of Mumbai.