Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Green Status of IUCN

  • Vaid's ICS, Lucknow
  • 06, Sep 2021
Image Not Found

Why in News:

The International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) on September 4, 2021 officially launched its “green status” — the first global standard for assessing species recovery and measuring conservation impacts.

How Does the Green Status of Species Define Recovery?

The Green Status assesses species against three essential facets of recovery:

  1. A species is fully recoveredif it is present in all parts of its range, even those that are no longer occupied but were occupied prior to major human impacts/disruption; AND
  2. It is viable (i.e., not threatened with extinction) in all parts of the range; AND
  3. It is performing its ecological functionsin all parts of the range.

Some 28% of 1,38,000 assessed species face extinction:

  • According to the IUCN, some 28% of the 1,38,374 species assessed by the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN) for its survival watchlist are now at high risk of vanishing forever.
  • The major threats to the species are; habitat loss, overexploitation and illegal trade and now the climate change.
  • Komodo dragons, the largest living lizards, which are found only in the World Heritage-listed Komodo National Park and neighbouring Flores, were listed as “endangered”.

Facts for Prelims:


Houthis are an armed rebel group belonging to the Zaidi Shia sect fighting against the government of Yemen.

Traditionally, the Houthis have been concentrated in the northwestern Saada Province of Yemen.

Ramon Magsaysay Award -2021

A Bangladeshi vaccine scientist and a microfinance expert from Pakistan are among the five recipients of this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Award.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is considered the Asian version of the Nobel Prize.

In addition to Dr. Firdausi Qadri from Bangladesh and Muhammad Amjad Saqib from Pakistan, other winners include Filipino fisher and community environmentalist Roberto Bailon, American Steven Munsi for humanitarian work and refugee aid, and Watchdoc, the Indonesian organization for investigative journalism. ) Are included.

  • Ramon Magsaysay Award is given every year to individuals and organizations of Asia for doing particularly remarkable work in their respective fields.
  • This award is given in memory of former President of Philippines Ramon Magsaysay.
  • The Raman Magsaysay Award was instituted in the year 1958 and the first award was presented to ‘Vinoba Bhave’ of India.