Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Voting underway for by-elections to three Lok Sabha & seven assembly seats

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 23, Jun 2022
Image Not Found

Bypolls to 3 Lok Sabha and 7 Assembly seats are being held today. These seats are spread over Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, Jharkhand and Delhi.

Bypolls for the Sangrur Lok Sabha seat in Punjab was necessitated following the resignation of Punjab Chief Minister Bhagwant Man after winning the Assembly Election from Dhuri constituency earlier this year.

Voting is taking place for two Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh. While the Rampur seat fell vacant after Azam Khan won the elections from the Rampur assembly seat, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav won the Karhal Assembly seat leaving the Azamgarh seat vacant.

In Delhi, Rajindar Nagar Assembly seat fell vacant after AAP MLA Raghav Chadha got elected to Rajya Sabha last month.

In Tripura, voting is taking place for four assembly seats - Borodvali town, Agartala, Surma and Jubarajnagar.

In Andhra Pradesh, Atmakur assembly seat was vacated by the sudden demise of YSR Congress MLA Mekapati Goutham Reddy in February this year.

In Jharkhand, Mandar assembly constituency fell vacant after Bandhu Tirkey who had won the seat in 2019, was disqualified following his conviction in a disproportionate assets case.

The counting of votes will be taken up on June 26.


Source: News on Air