Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Shehbaz Sharif takes oath as 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 12, Apr 2022
Image Not Found

In Pakistan, Shehbaz Sharif has become the 23rd prime minister of the country after taking an oath. He was administered the oath by Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjarani.

Earlier today, parliament elected the Opposition's joint candidate Sharif as the country's new prime minister. The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) chief got 174 votes in the 342-member National Assembly.

Before the voting process, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf lawmakers walked out of the National Assembly shouting slogans against the Opposition parties’ leadership and the US after their candidate Shah Mahmood Qureshi announced his decision to boycott the session.

According to local media reports, the poll took place under the chairmanship of MNA Ayaz Sadiq, two days after the lower house of Parliament voted in favour of removing Imran Khan from office, following a nearly 14-hour standoff between the Opposition and Khan's ruling party that started on Saturday morning.

Mr Shehbaz had earlier contested for the Prime Ministership in 2018 as well in which Imran had received 176 votes and he could bag only 96 votes at the time. He has served three times as Punjab's chief minister.

Mr. Shehbaz is the younger brother of PML-N supremo and thrice-elected prime minister Nawaz Sharif.

Sources : News on Air