Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

President Ram Nath Kovind to confer Padma Awards for year 2021 today

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 09, Nov 2021
Image Not Found

President Ram Nath Kovind will confer Padma awards for the Year 2021 on prominent personalities at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan today. One of the highest civilian Awards of the country,  Padma Awards are conferred in three categories, namely, Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri in various disciplines and fields of activities including art, social work, public affairs, science, trade, medicine, literature, sports and civil service.

This year the list comprises seven  Padma Vibhushan, ten Padma Bhushan and 102 Padma Shri Awards. Former Japan Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, sculptor Sudarshan Sahoo and Islamic scholar Maulana Wahiduddin Khan and others will be given Padma Vibhushan. Eminent Singer S P Balasubramaniam will be honoured with the award posthumously.  

Former Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Singer K S Chithra, prominent poet Chandrashekhara Kambara, retired Civil Servant Nripendra Misra and others will get Padma Bhushan.  Former Gujarat Chief Minister  Keshubhai Patel, Former Assam Chief Minister  Tarun Gogoi and Former Union Minister  Ram Vilas Paswan will be honoured with Padma Bhushan posthumously.
The list of Padma Shri awardees include social worker Sindutai Sapkal, Musician Bombay Jayashri, British film director Peter Brook and Greek Indologist Nicholas Kazanas.

Former Governor of Goa  Mridula Sinha will be given the award posthumously. Yesterday,  the President had presented Padma Awards for the year 2020. 

Sources : News On Air