Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Nobel Prize in Literature 2021

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 08, Oct 2021
Image Not Found

  • The Nobel Prize in Literature 2021 was awarded to Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah "for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents."
  • Based in Britain, Mr. Gurnah is the first African writer to win the award since the Zimbabwean Doris Lessing in 2007
  • Also, he is only the second writer of colour from subSaharan Africa, after Nigeria’s Wole Soyinka, who won in 1986
  • In his 10 novels he has consistently, and with great compassion, penetrated the effects of colonialism in east Africa and its effects on the lives of uprooted and migrating individuals.
  • His novels include Paradise, which is set in colonial East Africa during the First World War and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction, and Desertion.
  • He has drawn inspiration from Arabic and Persian poetry as well as the Koran, but the English Language tradition, from William Shakespeare to V. S. Naipaul, would especially mark his work.