Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Karnataka Legislative Council poll to be held on 19th Dec; 91 candidates in fray after withdrawal of 20 names

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 27, Nov 2021
Image Not Found

In Karnataka, there are 91 candidates remaining in the fray for the election to the 25 seats of state Legislative Council to be held on 10th of next month. Yesterday was the last day for the withdrawal of the nomination. According to the state Chief Electoral Office, 20 candidates withdrew their nominations till date. BJP and Congress have fielded 20 candidates each and JD(S) has fielded six candidates. The elections are being held for two seats each from the local body constituencies of Vijayapura, Belagavi, Dharwad, Dakshina Kannada, and Mysuru, and one each from Bidar, Kalaburagi, Uttara Kannada, Raichur, Ballari, Chitradurga, Shivamogga, Chikmagalur, Hassan, Tumakuru, Mandya, Bengaluru, Bengaluru Rural, Kolar and Kodagu. The Members from local bodies in town and gram panchayats, municipalities, and city corporations will elect the candidates. The counting of the votes will be held on December 14th. The Upper House has a strength of 75 members. At present, the BJP has 32 members, Congress 29 and JDS 12 with one Independent in the Upper House.

Sources : News On Air