Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders to win its 4th IPL title

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 16, Oct 2021
Image Not Found

Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs to win its fourth IPL title in Dubai last night. Put into bat first, Chennai posted a massive total of 192 for the loss of three wickets in the stipulated 20 overs riding on Faf du Plessis’ 86 off 59 and Moeen Ali’s unbeaten 37 off 20 balls. For Kolkata, Sunil Narine scapled two wickets.

In reply, Kolkata could score only 165 runs for nine wickets in 20 overs with the help of Shubman Gill’s 51 off 43 and Venkatesh Iyer’s 50 off 32 balls. For Chennai, Shardul Thakur picked up three wickets while Josh Hazlewood and Ravindra Jadeja took two wickets apiece.

Faf du Plessis wins the Man of the Match award for smashing a knock of 86 in 59 balls for Chennai.

Ruturaj Gaikwad who scored 32 off 27 deliveries in the final clash, has won the Orange Cap for scoring higest run with 635 runs from 16 matches in this edition of IPL. While Du Plessis finished the campaign as the second-highest run scorer of the the season with 633 off 16 games.

The Purple Cap goes to RCB’s Harshal Patel, who has registered 32 wickets in 15 games in this IPL season.

With this, MS Dhoni led Chennai lift the IPL trophy for the fourth time, having previously won the tournament in 2010, 2011, and 2018.

Sources : News On Air