Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

Air Marshal V R Chaudhari appointed next Chief of Air Staff

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 22, Sep 2021
Image Not Found

  • Air Marshal V R Chaudhari was commissioned into the Fighter stream of Indian Air Force on 29th December 1982
  • At Independence, the head of the Air Force designated as the "Air Marshal Commanding, Royal Indian Air Force"
  • Appointment to the office is made by the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet (ACC)
  • The Establishment Officer’s Division (EO Division) processes all proposals for senior appointments in the Government of India that require the approval of the Appointments Committee of the Cabinet 

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet

  • ACC is an extra-constitutional body meaning it is not mentioned in the Constitution.
  • However, the Rules of Business provide for its establishment.
  • It comprises of Prime Minister (Chairmen) and Home Minister

The committee makes appointments to posts of:

  • CBI chief (by ACC comprising CJI, opposition party leader and PM)
  • Chiefs of three services
  • Director General of Military Operations
  • Chiefs of all Air and Army Commands
  • Director General of Defence Intelligence Agency
  • Scientific Advisor to the Defence Minister
  • Director General of Armed Forces Medical Services
  • Director General of Ordnance Factories (DGOF) & Chairman OFB
  • Director-General of Defence Estates
  • Controller General of Defence Accounts
  • Director of Institute for Defence Studies and Analyses
  • Solicitor-General of India
  • Governor of the Reserve Bank of India
  • Executive Director of World Bank
  • Chairman and Members of the Railway Board
  • Chief Vigilance Officers and directors of the board in Public Sector Undertakings.
  • Secretariat posts of and above the rank of Joint Secretary in the Central Government.