Get the most updated and recent current affair content on

12 Opposition members suspended from Rajya Sabha for remaining part of winter session - for having created ruckus on last day of Monsoon session

  • Integrity Education, Delhi
  • 30, Nov 2021
Image Not Found

In Rajya Sabha, twelve Opposition members were suspended for the rest of the current Winter Session. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi moved the motion seeking their suspension saying their unruly behavior on the last day of the previous Monsoon Session has lowered the dignity and brought disrepute to the Upper House.
The motion was passed by voice vote, amid resistance from the Opposition. The members who were suspended include six from the INC, two each from the TMC and Shiv Sena and one each from the CPI and the CPI(M).

They are Phulo Devi Netam, Chhaya Verma, Ripun Bora, Rajamani Patel, Syed Nasir Hussain and Akhilesh Prasad Singh of the Congress, Binoy Viswam of the CPI, Elamaram Kareem of the CPI (M),  Dola Sen and  Shanta Chhetri of the TMC, Priyanka Chaturvedi and Anil Desai of Shiv Sen With their suspension, Deputy Chairman Harivansh adjourned the House for the day.

Earlier, in the Lok Sabha, when the House met for the day, two newly elected members representing Mandi Constituency in Himachal Pradesh and Khandwa in Madhya Pradesh took oath.

Then Speaker Om Birla read out obituary references for the eight members including former Union ministers Kalyan Singh and Oscar Fernandes, who passed away recently.

During the Question Hour in the Lower House, opposition members trooped into the well of the House demanding uniform Minimum Support Price structure across the country among other issues. In the din, the Speaker adjourned the House till noon. Later after passing the Farm Laws Repeal Bill, 2021, the House was adjourned till 2 PM and then for the day.

Sources : News On Air